top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturefrankadlington

Pronouns: Why I use them

I was recently asked by why I add my pronouns (he/him) to my email signature, website and social media pages. I thought it was a very valid question and something I should share with others wondering the same. Here is my answer...

Solidarity

It is important to me that I show my support to our transgender and non-binary friends. Simple as that.


Easing the burden

Displaying your pronouns may encourage others to do the same, and normalising this will hopefully make the lives of others easier. Immediately confirming your gender reduces the liklihood of misgendering and helps to create a more inclusive enviornment. This will ease the burden on our trans and non-binary friends who are having to have the same conversations time and time again.


Understanding gender privilege

I am a white cisgender (meaning the gender I was born with) male. This means that more often than not I experience privilege. By recognising that privilege, I feel able to speak out in situations where I do hold more power or influence. Our collective efforts - even as small as placing pronouns in email signatures - go a long way to making a difference for others who don't neccessarily have the same level of privilege.

The importance of pronouns in email signatures Adding pronouns to your email signature, gives people the confidence to address you properly. Some may feel uncomfortable declaring their pronouns, this should of course be respected. This is understandably a highly sensitive and emotional topic for some.


Trans and non-binary people are unfortunately often misgendered, and at times this is done deliberately. We must therefore make an effort to improve our language.

The most widely known pronouns are he/him/his and she/her/hers, but as the non-binary community grows in visibility people are becoming increasingly aware of non-gendered pronouns. These include they/them/theirs and ze/zir/zem. It is important that we recognise all of these pronouns and offer all people a safe space.

Adding your pronouns to your email signature, social media profiles and stating them at the beginning of a meeting is a simple step each of us can take to empower our non-binary and transgender friends. You have the power to make these communities feel heard, how great is that!

Where to put pronouns in email signatures This is of course your choice, my email signature looks something like this...


Frank Adlington-Stringer (he/him)

Local councillor and campaigner - Green Party

07833 496912

frank.adlington-stringer@derbyshire.greenparty.org.uk


You can find more information here: https://www.stonewall.org.uk/what-does-trans-mean

51 views
bottom of page