top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturefrankadlington

Fireworks At council meeting!

Wingerworth Parish Council awarded the local scouts group with a grant for its annual fireworks display, but two councillors voted against the proposal. I was one of them. Below are my comments to the Wings Editor in full, I have also provided the link here for anyone wishing to read the full article.


"I remember being a little lad wrapped up in layer upon layer of winter clothing and waddling down the road like a penguin. I remember standing by the bonfire with friends and warm cheeks. I also remember writing my name in the air with sparklers and all of the other fun memories I have at the Scout bonfire, so it was with a heavy heart that I decided to vote against the £350 council grant for the event. The motion passed regardless of my vote but, for me, it was important to vote as I did."


"Most people reading this probably spent their childhoods without ever hearing, never mind worrying, about climate change or pollution, and in a way I’m pleased that you didn’t have to. If you go into a school today however, as I have done on many an occasion, and you talk to the students, whether they be little ones or sixth formers, they all know about climate change and plastic in the ocean. So whilst I loved those days at the bonfire as a young boy, as I look back now with the experience and knowledge I have, I wish that someone had voted the way that I did. I wish someone had made those difficult decisions to vote for the environment, and against pollution; for a healthy world, and against climate change; for a future with clean air, and without plastic pollution; and most importantly for my future. These issues will be around for the rest of my life and will probably still be haunting humanity long after I’m gone, so its my duty to make sacrifices and do what I can, however small, to repair the damage done."


"We all love gazing up at the sky each November at the fireworks but we have to remember what they are, and what they are doing to our world. We must contextualise them and whilst they are fun, they are nothing more than plastic bombs full of poisonous chemicals. Those beautiful fireworks are deceivingly harmful. Whilst that pop of colour quickly dissipates from the night sky and after a few hours we are left with nothing but a distant memory, those chemicals and harmful materials stay with us. They rain down on us like a toxic spray. They enter our streams and rivers, and litter our fields. They pose a threat to wildlife and even to human health as the chemicals enter our water system, food supplies and eventually our bodies. Therefore, I don’t think a Parish Council, which only very recently adopted a Climate Change Policy and who’s very own Grant Awarding Policy states that funds should be given to those seeking to improve the environment, should be funding the purchase of fireworks with public money."


"The last thing I, the youngest councillor in Wingerworth, want to do is stop children from having fun but, I also want them to have a safe and happy future - to me that is more important. So whilst it was not an easy decision to make, that is why I voted the way I did. I don’t see it as a negative vote but, instead as a positive vote. A vote for a brighter future, even if that means a little less fun today."


I have since its publication posted a Facebook post which sumarises my views on the matter, those thoughts are copied below also.


First of all it is a contradiction of existing council policy for this donation to be granted. Only a matter of months ago the council unanimously adopted a Climate Change Policy, and has since declared a Climate Emergency. The Parish Council stated its intention to 'work with partners across Wingerworth Parish in order to develop relevant strategies and plans which will enable the community to successfully and prosperously reach this target [of mitigating climate change]'. Providing a grant for what are essentially chemical filled, plastic explosives to be fired into the air and lost in our woodlands is a failure. The Council, in my opinion, should be using its grant awarding process to encourage partners across the community to improve their practices and help them find solutions which enable us to both have fun and protect our precious environment.


Other councillors suggested that this is only Wingerworth, it's just one event, and that we shouldn't bother whilst ever planes fly above us and Sydney harbour explodes at New Year. I hear that, and I completely understand the feeling. Personally, as someone who does their best to limit their impact on the environment, I get it. I am a vegan, and I try to be zero waste, shop locally, carbon offset my lifestyle, buy second hand, wear sustainable clothing, cycle to meetings, and so much more all for our planet. I am often disheartened, met with criticism or told that my efforts aren't changing anything. When I see oil spills in our seas, restaurants without even vegetarian options, single use plastics in our supermarkets, Derbyshire County Council burying our recycling in landfill, or whatever else it may be, I feel disheartened. What can little Frank do. Why bother? But then I remember. This is about me trying to do what I can, because if I didn't, who would? It's about standing up for what I believe in. We all have to try, and I know so many people in Wingerworth and our community are trying. So it's two fold, the Parish Council has to lead by example. It has to show us that we can be better but it also has to remember that it is doing these things for Wingerworth. Because Wingerworth matters. Its our community, our home, our part of the world. We should be doing whatever we can to protect it, enhance it and to be proud of it.


Difficult decisions have to be made and it was with a heavy heart that I voted against this grant. To me, however, protecting our environment and enhancing the quality of life for all is more important than a few fireworks. I know that others will disagree, and that's what democracy is about. But I want you to know that I won't stop fighting for a better future and, fireworks or not, I am sure we will all have plenty of fun along the way!


I hope that this clarifies my position and I look forward to hearing your thoughts. If you have any questions or thoughts, leave a comment below or feel free to email me (frankadlington@gmail.com) or call on 07833 496912. Thanks, Frank :-)



257 views
bottom of page